Seeing Yourself As God Sees You

Posted: May 20, 2011 in Uncategorized

I’ll be the first to admit I’m self deprecating. For those of you who don’t know what that means, it basically means you’re your own worst enemy. For some reason, and I know I’m not the only one that’s this way, it’s easier to nit pick the bad out of a situation or person. Putting yourself down tends to be easier than lifting yourself up. I remember in the beginning of the semester we had to write about the positive characteristics we see in ourselves, then we had to write about the negative things we see in ourselves in English Comp. Needless to say, the negative paper was extremely longer and more detailed than the positive one. And I wasn’t the only one who felt that way. Pretty much our whole class had trouble writing good things about themselves. Kind of strange is it not?

It’s not that I don’t love myself, trust me I do. But I got to thinking about something the other day.

-How many times a day do I look in the mirror and critique my looks?
-How many times do I think I wish my body was different?
-Why do I worry so much what people think of me?

Not really a healthy mindset is it? People strive for perfection all the time. But truth is, they’ll never get it. Society and the media is constantly changing their ideal “perfect person”, and with that there’s thousands if not millions of young people who run after it so they can be “socially acceptable”.

But have you ever stopped and thought about this: every time, yes every single time, you insult yourself by putting yourself down you’re in return insulting Gods work? If you’re like me, you just said to yourself “oh crap!” First time I heard it, that was my immediate reaction. I never thought about it like that. It’s such a corny Christian saying but it’s true that we’re made in Gods image. He made every single person the way He wanted, and He sees perfection every time He looks at us. Pretty heart warming stuff isn’t it?

1 Corinthians 3:16- Don’t you know that you yourselves are Gods temple and that Gods Spirit lives in you? (NLT)

Just something to think about. I always said that I’d never ever want to insult God, but when we insult ourselves or put ourselves down, we’re doing exactly that.

Leave a comment