What Motivates Your Life.

Posted: July 14, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

  1. Redemption- The action of saving or being saved from sin, error, or evil;
  2. Restoration- The return of something to a former owner, place, or condition.
  3. FaithComplete trust or confidence in someone or something.
  4. Communitya unified body of individuals

I’ve been thinking alot lately about what motivates my life and inspires me to live the life I want to have. The four words at the top of this entry, pretty much sum it all up. I think we all spend a lot of time thinking about what our lives mean, but I’m not sure that’s what we should focus on. We should focus on, at least in my opinion, what we want to say with our lives. Not getting it? Let me explain a little further.

We spend a lot of time, well I do any ways, trying to figure out the big picture of what we’re going to accomplish with our lives. Maybe we just started the journey, or maybe we’ve been traveling the road to our cause/dream for a little while. All the while, we’ve got our eyes set on the finish line, but yet we have no idea where that is or what lies ahead after we get there.  While I was at the LA Dream Center last month for a week visiting my friend (yes, I love being able to say I was there at one point haha) I heard Pastor Matthew Barnett speak this incredible message about being in the middle of the dream. Basically, the main point of the message was you can’t give up when you’re on your way because the middle is where you grow and learn the most.

That message has been resonating in me ever since I heard it. I realized that day that I was in the middle of my dream. But I had no idea where I was going or even what was really influencing/ motivating my life. So I began really thinking and praying about it.

Redemption-
I’ve already been redeemed when I turned my life over to Jesus for real. But redemption motivates me, because when I hear that word, I remember where I was before I chose to really live for God and not just go through the motions. I know the love and forgiveness that God gives out to us, and just reminding myself of that on a daily basis makes it easier for me to keep going when things aren’t going easy.

Restoration-
Everybody has their ghosts. Everyone has things that they carry with them throughout their lives that haunts them. The stuff they wish they could take back or change. Restoration, getting put back together from being broken, is a painful process. I’m currently going through it with God and it’s so not fun. All your skeletons come out and He finally makes you deal with them. But in the long run, when you finally get past it, there’s freedom. I, like probably all of you, know a lot of broken people. My heart breaks when I hear stories of some of my friends/co-workers/acquaintances. Yeah it’s not fun, but my own restoration process is a huge motivator of my life. It lets me know that things aren’t always going to be this way. That I am one day going to be put back together from my past, and that encourages me. I love watching the process in other peoples lives. To be part of their lives, especially during this time, is incredible. God can use you to help them, encourage them and support them.

Faith-
This should probably be first in this blog, but it came to mind third, so it’ll stay here. My faith in God is probably the most important thing about me. Everyone I know, knows I’m a born again Christian. I’m not shy about that fact, it actually brings up interesting conversations with people. I know that I know that God will always be there. I’ve been through enough where I was convinced God abandoned me. When I got re-saved, I realized that He was with me the whole time (if you want to know the whole story, I have my testimony on here somewhere way back in my posts lol). My faith (confidence and trust) in Jesus has been growing a lot over the past year or so and now I lead others to grow in their faith. Being a small group leader for the youth was never something I had planned for my life. I’m not the most elegant public speaker, I fumble over words like it’s my job, but for some reason God placed me in the position of small group leader; and I couldn’t love it more if I tried. Seeing them grow each semester in their faith is incredible to watch. I say it a lot but I’m so proud of them and love them a lot. And if any of you guys are reading this right now, HEY!!

Community
It’s so cliche, but we’re all in this life together. We all have people in our life and inner circles for a reason, and that’s to be there for each other, to lift each other up and to be united. I love being part of a community. Whether it’s in church, in small group, at school, work, family, friends. Building community is one of my passions. Seeing people come together for a cause/ purpose is amazing. I think of the story in the Bible of the tower of Babel. They were all united in building the tower, that they actually could accomplish their goal if God hadn’t intervened and separated them. When we come together in unity for something, we can pretty much accomplish amazing things.

As you were reading this, I hope you began thinking of the things that motivate your life. If you’re like me, you have no idea where you’re going in life, but you’re trying something. Finding the things that motivate me to move forward was a huge help in the process of reaching my destiny. I know I’m no wheres near the finish line, but now that I know what influences me, I’m finding it easier to step out. So… what motivates you?

Comments
  1. barbmercer says:

    Love it Jess..very good reminder and Motivator

Leave a Reply

